October Wrap-up and Monthly Update

Okay! So I have been making good progress this month, more in terms of enjoying the research for my ideas rather than narrowing one down, but I think I may have found a solution.

So October! This month we achieved a lot, I ditched my ideas that were holding me down, revamping focus on history topics. I looked at my WW1, Ship Sounds and Interview series ina  bit more depth and start reading about the subjects looking for a good angle. I also wrote a comic, so that’s something!

However this week has really hit me with an idea that has got me excited- it’s a way to combine all three of my ideas (sort of) into a cohesive project that features experimental sound design, interviews buuuut MOST IMPORTANTLY, a way of measuring results and creating a conclusion/outcome I’m really interested in!

So, let me explain- What makes the best information podcast?

I was traveling home with my dad, and showing him some new podcasts since I tend to find new ones to listen to quite often. He’d listened to This American Life Before and enjoyed it- a From Our Own Corespondent style minimally edited podcast about peoples stories following a weekly theme. He really enjoyed it, so I played Radiolab, a similar podcast following a theme but that is much, much more heavily edited. I prefer Radiolab for it’s experimental, orignal approach to suing sound and sound effects as part of the narrative, but my Dad really didn’t. He argued the quick cuts were distracted and he found it difficult to follow. It got me thinking- if I was making my interview series, or maybe a history podcast like I’d always wanted to, what should I do? Keep to a more audiobook style, or something much more fast cut and experimental like Radiolab? If you remember I posted a while back about the two documentaries I did, and what’s funny is I copied the style of both shows (American and Radiolab) for those. My first documentary was less about the editing and more about the people- thus, I cut it more like American. My second one, however, was all Radiolab style, with faster cuts and stock sound effects, pop culture references, you name it. It got me thinking

In this project, we could be looking at what specifics of a podcast is the best for keeping audiences interested, immersed and most importantly teaching them best?

Let’s look at my favorite podcast of the moment- Dan Carlin’s Hardcore History, his show is massive in legnth, but it’s just him talking. No cuts, nothing. Look at something like A History of the World in 100 objects, and it’s more radio-style documentary.

Using the studies I’ve been looking at, could we measure the effectiveness of different writing, editing and sound effect techniques? Could I make a history podcast, and then survey people on their preferences?

I’ll write more later, but that is my current place. Hopefully, if all goes well- none of my time has been wasted making three separate proposals, I could make them into one!

Leave a Reply

