A Historical Elephant in the Room

So, I really didn’t think this as too relevant but I really love my history. I’ve written my first proper history post on my blog, and I got a really good reaction to it. Which is great! Because my life long ambition to to write a book, preferably about history or something historical.

Here’s the thing- every time I come to the library to study, I’m spending more time writing and researching history than I am researching sound or my current ideas floating around my head. Most of my podcast listening now is all history podcasts. It seems to me to be a no-brainer to try and do my project about something history related. I have a few ideas I’m going to work on-

Historical Battlefields

Last year I made for a class task a scoring of a “hoverbike” video clip. My first attempt at using space age sounds really didn’t work, but my second attempt at suing messy, loud sounds of jet engines up close, of air raid sirens and other low quality “dirty” sounds I felt gave it a much more textured sound. I love the idea of creating a super gritty battlefield that is just an assault on the ears- can I recreate the battle of Stirling Bridge, thousands of people and horses and death screams, swords clattering? My problem immediately is that I really don’t think I can, I don’t think I have the skills to do that, certainly not as the main focus.

(PS, the last half of the hoverbike video is a joke… I think you get the idea though)

Famous Speeches in History

This video about the actual pronunciation of Shakespeare’s plays is really facinating:

What would Robot the Bruce’s speeches sound like? What would famous proclamations and moments in history that we can never hear sound and feel like?

Historical Soundscapes

How would a city or town sound? Decibel levels, accents, the music and clatter of carts and animals. This has been attempted in the past, but I was thinking of applying it to ships, what would a ship sound like? At a battle, or just on the high seas?

 

Leave a Reply

